“Adler smoothie” (green smoothie recipe)

Smoothie

I’ve been experimenting with some green smoothie recipes – while I looked a few up on the internet, I’ve generally just used them for inspiration, and not really followed any of them.

I’ve named this one in commemoration of Eintracht Frankfurt football club (nickname, ‘die Adler‘ / the Eagles), after their fantastic 2012/13 season performance – they drew 2-2 with Vfl Wolfsburg this afternoon to achieve qualification for the Europa League (season 2013/14). Nice job!

Ok, back to the smoothie. Quite simply, I just stuck all the ingredients in the blender. Here’s the recipe:

  • Spinach leaves, de-stalked (about 10-12 leaves)
  • Bananas (2)
  • Kiwi, green (1)
  • Apple, Braeburn (1)
  • Pear (1)
  • Dates, fresh (4)
  • Goji berries, dried (approximately 1-2 tbsp)
  • Lemon juice (from 1/2 lemon)
  • Water (2-3 cups)

This seemed to make about 1 litre / 2 pints. Most of the ingredients came from Alnatura, and are ‘Bio’ products.

So, I hear you ask, “What’s it like?”

Well, it might not look great (see photo), but it tastes great – a fruit smoothie (eg, no/less ‘greens’) might be slightly sweeter, but the dates and berries give the smoothie some sweetness also. I also feel good about getting some healthy fruit and veg.

Next time I might try changing the recipe, for example with blueberries, kale, herbs, etc. either in addition to, or in place of some of the above ingredients.

Maybe it make me soar like an ‘Adler’ …

One Response

  1. Love it. My best friend Mark runs a juice distribution company. I’ve got all sorts of juicing equipment courtesy of him and he often makes me green liquid like the one in your picture.

    Sometime they taste great, sometimes not, but I’m told they are always very good for me. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

